Any Volunteers?

To continue my evacuation plan, I need to clarify that this is the plan during a firestorm. For earthquake or flood, well, things will be very different. Earthquakes tend to destroy roads, so there isn’t much purpose to packing up to leave. Unless our home is damaged, we will do our best to stay in place. Having water on hand is essential, and what I see as the biggest obstacle to being self sufficient in a crisis. A pool would be good enough, a pond, perhaps. But this is something to be resolved another time.

A flood is not impossible in Southern California. And if an earthquake damages some of the dams in the area, we could actually have to deal with it. And as I live in a valley, I doubt very much I could successfully get through such an event.

Fires, of course, move quickly, but they rarely start close to where I live. I would have a few hours at least to cage up the birds and pack the go bags. I will put tags on the cages and carriers so we know who to put where. That way helpers will just need to know which cockatiel is Kai and which one is Fletch, and then I’ll yell, just put all the cockatiels in here!

Now, outside is a whole new problem. I have already filled up our two cars with the cages and food and clothing and carriers and towels. Imagine being in a small car full of parrots in an emergency. Yeah, not doing a drill any time soon. But what about the two doves, 6 budgies, 4 lovebirds, 2 button quail, and 7 cockatiels?

Don’t even think about turning the birds loose. They will be nailed in seconds by hawks and eagles looking just for such an easy snack. If they evade the predators, they may or may not be able to find food and water, but chances are not good that they will survive. So at this point, I will need to reach out to club members or friends, and arrange for someone to help me cage the birds, and put them in a truck or van.

Through the North County Aviculturists, I became aquainted with Terry Runyon, a skilled magician who also works with parrots. https://www.facebook.com/terry.runyon He is active in ham radio circles, because that is a form of communication that will still work when the cell phones and land lines don’t. He also had a wonderful trailer into which were fitted stainless steel bird cages, especially for evacuations. During the past fires, he helped out folks in lots of remote areas.

I know people with trucks hate to be asked to help friends move. But I am counting on their being willing to help out in such a situations. At least until I can afford my dream van. http://www.ford.com/trucks/transitconnect/ (And it can tow a trailer!)

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

