Mayn Street

If you lived with me, you would know that anything you said could and probably would end up in something I write. A novel, a short story, a blog post, anything. My husband made a bad pun about my Amazon parrot being on Mayn Street, and I knew I had to use that.

Maynard is so much fun. I really can’t imagine why his previous owners didn’t just love him to death. Of course, there’s the chewing up wooden doors if he wants to go where they are keeping him out. And the screaming if he thinks we are eating something he likes and not sharing. And the trail of poop wherever he goes on out time. But other than that, he’s the perfect parrot.

Well, he did learn a new trick that is costing a little money. You see, we have a market basket stand in which we keep fruit. Maynard has learned to climb up to the top of the stand. I had trouble finding him one day. I could hear him, but not see him. Then I realized there were no big green fruit in the baskets. I laughed. Then I noticed the apples

.Featured image  Our market basket stand is like this.

Maynard is not fond of apples. If I give him a slice, he will ignore it, or grab it and throw it to the cage bottom. But here he was, sampling all of the apples in the basket. One little bite out of each. Apparently one of them was tastier than the others, and he ate a big hole out of that one.

I placed the sampled fruit in the middle basket, and placed a wicker basket over the whole fruit that survived. The next day, he went up the basket stand again, but stopped at the low hanging fruit and began to eat those. He didn’t attempt the top basket, so I have no idea if that cover will survive if he does. Fingers crossed at this point.

Featured imageFeatured imageFeatured imageFeatured image

Dull playstand, better playstand, OMG playstand, over the cage playstand.

I would love to get a giant parrot playground for him so he can be out of his cage except for sleeping. But it would have to be a Disneyland of parrot playgrounds. He would be terrified of it at first, of course. But maybe if I hang a few apples from it, he’ll at least take a nibble. If it’s a wooden playground, we’ll have to replace it every few months. For a happy parrot, it’s worth it.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

