Conversations with Parrots

There are drawbacks to having a pet that can potentially repeat whatever you say. While your pastor is visiting or your grandmother or under oath in a court of law. Hopefully not when all three situations occur.

Besides that, you often have to say things to your birds that you don’t have to say ever to a dog or cat or guinea pig. Not all the data is in on goldfish.

081416 goldfish

Some phrases are similar. You might ask a dog why he or she is barking. I ask Maynard why he is shouting. He will answer with something like Good Morning! Which just means he wanted some attention and maybe some toast or a finger to bite.

081416 maynard not playing

I asked the grey singing finches why they abandoned their chicks. They both looked guilty, so I think it was premeditated chick abuse. I got a good deal on two pairs of society finches because they jumped the gun and hatched out chicks of their own before Lady Gouldian finch eggs could be slipped into the nest. Now they won’t breed for me. I think they didn’t care for being parents all that much. They are doing a pretty good job of teaching the zebra finch babies that I stuck in with them to prevent their parents from murdering them. This is why finches do not have their own Child or Chick Protection Services.

081416 society finch

Bo Bo gives me a run down of what she has liked about her day. Sometimes first thing before any of it has happened. She’s predicting the future, I guess. She says Water, Apple, and Corney. Pretty sure that last is something she wants, not how she sees humans.

081416 cropped bobo

Still, Maynard is the parrot that talks the most and with whom I have the most conversations. He does like to chime in when I laugh at something. He will laugh longer and louder than anyone else. Which makes people who hear him laugh more. It’s a vicious, happy circle.

Maynard often says, “Good-bye, Maynard.” I ask him where he’s going, but he hasn’t made up his mind yet. That must be why he’s still around. I do wish I knew more of what he says. He has a voice he does that sounds like a small child trying to explain things to an adult. The rant often starts with, “Come here!” but little after that is decipherable.

081416 maynard haughty look

I find it amazing how parrots get used to things around their homes. Maynard was not impressed when we got a dog. His way of greeting her was a nip on the back of her neck. She pretends he doesn’t exist. But when she was gone for almost a whole day at the groomers, he did his dog whistle a few times. When she came home, he acted in a very excited manner. All was right with his world. He could go back to planning her demise.

Thanks for reading, I’ll be back on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

