March Potpourri

Quite often, little bits of my life with parrots would be interesting to share, but no one thing will cover an entire blog post. Sometimes I can link together things that are on the same topic, but not that often. So today’s post is a potpourri of bird fun.

Parakeet Peyton Place

 

budgie-trio

Mama up top, Uncle, then Dad.

 

My American parakeets currently consist of one hen and two males. As you might expect, tension is high in that flight cage. Mama is delighted to have the attentions of both boys, but the guys each have some plucked head feathers and superficial wounds. I keep an eye on them so as not to lose one, but whenever Dad is in the food dish, Uncle is in with Mama, feeding her, and possibly giving her a back rub. The eggs will be interesting when they hatch. Dad and Uncle are both green, but Dad is more typical while Uncle has yellow on his head and wings.

Parrot Conversations

Some days the birds chatter amongst themselves, much to the amusement of their companion people. A few days ago, Congo African Grey Bo Dangles was saying, “Birdie!” She often says that when one of the little birds flies by her cage. But this time, she seemed to be saying it for her own amusement. Then Maynard started answering her. It went like this;

Bo: Birdie!

Maynard: Maynard!

Bo: Birdie!

Maynard: Maynard!

Bo: Birdie!

Maynard: Maynard!

After a while, Bobo finally got the idea that Maynard is, in fact, a birdie, and started asking for apple. Which is what she calls peanuts.

She also can imitate my voice and my husband’s. She keeps us guessing who was actually talking. Luckily, I was away from the house when she said, “Hi, Bobo!” in Mike’s voice. I also missed Maynard saying, “Let me out.” I’m sure he just wanted to attack his rival for my affections.

Button Quail Report

 

pixel-in-his-dust-bowl

Pixel in his dust bowl.

 

I’m sure you miss my going on and on about button quail. I love the little things and haven’t had a batch of chicks in too long. I currently have three pair and lots of eggs, but the hens just aren’t in the mood to sit. My oldest male, Pixel, has a new hen, Raster. (Don’t ask) Rassy is a beautiful wild-type girl and when she sits still on the eggs, I have to look very closely to see her. If I spook her, I can see her right away. I was sure she would hatch out some babies, but for some reason, she gave up on her first clutch and started a new one. Maybe the back corner was too isolated.

 

Frodo

A young wild-type button quail male.

 

In the large aviary, my wild-type boy, Rover, and his hen, Tennessee 3, hatched out one baby out of a large clutch some months back, but the little guy didn’t make it. Neither of these quail wants to sit and do the whole parenting thing that much. Which, I hope, means the hen will live a little longer.

 

031917 wild hen

Wild type button quail hen.

 

My third couple, Pele and Tia, also seem to be uninterested in parenthood. Lots of eggs, not much sitting, and when Tia does sit, after three or four days, she’s done. Oh, well. They are sweet things and don’t cause much trouble. Plus I can dump the used parakeet seed in their cage and they love it.

Sunny and Mookie

 

mookie and sunny

Mookie and Sunny after last visit with Andy. Look how sad they are!

 

Sun conure Mookie and Orange Front conure Sunny are still with me. Their owner decided to become homeless when his roommate passed away and he couldn’t afford his rent any longer. It’s been at least a year since they have had a visit from him, either at the house or at a bird club meeting. Their situation breaks my heart, especially when I remember how excited and happy they were the last time they saw Andy. He will always be their main object of affection. At least they consider me a reasonable substitute at times. Mookie is rascally, like most sun conures, and has to give me a little nip before stepping up. Sunny, on the other hand, is adorable and sweet, stepping up willingly and letting me give him a little kiss. They have no idea why their human doesn’t come and take them away, so I do my best to make their time with me stress-free and fun.

That’s the news and tidbits from my Home for Happy Hookbills (and other birds). Thanks for reading, I’ll be back next Sunday.

Leave a Reply

