Eggs-travaganza

I warned you about the eggs puns. I can’t help it. They just roll out of my brain. There’s no hope for me now. Too many years of wordplay, encouraged by my husband and many friends.

Sometimes eggs are a disappointment. The Ringnecks’ egg never hatched, so I pulled it. Orion came out of her box and sat as far away from me as she could. Wraith perched next to her and made noises that sounded like, “Oooh, Awwww,” exactly as if he knew she was upset and wanted to comfort her. D’aw!

wraith-with-orion-behind
Wraith

Meanwhile, I turned the nest box around for the lovebirds. Three clutches are enough. Usually, I give them the year off, but I learned from a wise and much more experienced breeder that they only need a month or two to rest, then I can let them go at it again. That makes a lot of sense.

Meanwhile meanwhile, the cockatiels in the outrigger have a nice clutch of eggs that don’t seem to be hatching. Oh well. At least they are happy birds. In the aviary, I find daily a white egg in the bath dish, a white egg on the floor, and no one fessing up to being the egg drop culprit. The doves haven’t laid any more eggs since I pulled the last ones. The button quail, however, have a nice nest behind the basket I gave them with 8 to 10 eggs. Mom has started to sit tight so fingers are crossed.

quail on eggs
Quail on eggs in protected corner of aviary.

I moved all my juvenile zebra finches out of the big cage and into a smaller cage. I have a pair of society finches I am waiting to introduce to the big cage in a short while. My original four society finches are on eggs so hoping to get chicks to match up with the new kids.

My biggest fear with moving the young zeebs is that I would mistakenly remove a parent feeding chicks. I have so many baby zeebs in nests right now. So I did a nest check and all the babies are fine. Hopefully, I can stay on top of pulling the kids and not wait so long. Of course, that means I need to sell the kids I have already pulled. Time to put photos up on Facebook.

zebra-chicks

My bird club is going to have an auction in August, birds, cages, stands, supplies, whatever we have donated. I have a very pretty male zebra finch, white with chestnut cheek patches and a slight waistcoat. I am watching the other kids to see if he forms an attachment. The birds seem to know male and female birds, even when we don’t.

fin-and-rebel-on-swing
Fin and Rebel

Inside, my bonded female lovebirds, Fin and Rebel, are up to two eggs. They took a long break so I will let them play house a bit longer before pulling the tissue box that they made into a nest. Honestly, besides the large oval opening on the side (formerly the top), they chewed holes around on the other sides close to the back. Improved ventilation, a better view, and easy escape when needed. Smart girls!

Lots of chicks and lots of fun taking care of them. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back next Sunday.

Leave a Reply

