Reality

For years now I have said I was going to downsize my outside birds. As I get older, the chores of hauling water, checking food levels, and shoveling out aviaries have become harder and harder to do. I have a mass of zebra finches that I should never have let get so large. I have button quail in every possible cage and coturnix quail with them. My cape doves are in limbo, my ringneck doves are doing nothing but eating, and my rodent problem is getting worse all the time. The only joy out there is the gouldian finches: they are happy, healthy, and breeding, if slowly.

A recent bout of feeling poorly ended with me in the local Emergency Room, and a diagnosis of a mass on my liver. Yes, it’s most likely cancer and moving forward, my medical team is treating it that way. My future is filled with doctor appointments and very little energy. I struggle to get anything done for my flock, so I am downsizing.

I’m so fortunate to have friends in my bird club who will take some of the birds and treat them very well. I am keeping the gouldians, the four button quail in the big aviary, and the two coturnix quail in the big aviary: the hen, Bindi, is a very special bird that jumps up to see what I have in my hands every day. Otherwise, the rest of the flock is up for grabs.

Inside, the flock will mostly stay the same: lots of these birds are getting old and will stay with us for the rest of their lives, and they do give me pleasure and companionship. I expect to survive this particular cancer and will easily be able take care of my reduced flock once I am in remission. This is reality, and this is what it has taken to get me to downsize.

Thank you all for reading, today and over the years. I don’t know if I will have energy enough to keep writing, so if this is goodbye, know I will always be grateful for your company on this road.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.