Potpourri for Summer 2022

Just a few random notes that won’t make a complete post, so I’m going to throw them all together. Hope you enjoy this; let me know in the comments if you do.

Good bye Red Rumps

Happy Red Rumps

I have been wanting to re-home my pair of red rump parakeets for about a year now. I tried to sell them but their age and lack of breeding starts, plus the male’s beak issue made that difficult. So I asked a friend if she wanted them, and she said she did. Fingers crossed that they will respond to a new home and get into the mood.

So long, Cuddles and Bemo

Cuddles

The same friend noticed my cockatiels when picking up the red rumps. She asked how much I wanted for them. I won’t sell Hermes, he’s here to stay and a bit old for new beginnings. Tuck was simply too far gone into whatever condition he had, and sadly passed away just before this post was compiled. The last two, Cuddles and Bemo, were given to me and I have always planned to re-home them. I saw my chance and said that as long as the people who re-homed them to me had no issues, they could have the two. Luckily, the former owners were prepared for this to happen, but Bemo’s mom did want to come see him one more time. Preferably when the weather cooled off some. My wonderful friend agreed to bring Bemo back whenever the former mom could come to visit.

Bemo

Hermes did act rather sad to be the last cockatiel in the cage, but he does have my rosy Bourke parakeet, Ethel, as a companion; they have been around in my flock for many years now and do very well together.

Zebra finch chicks think they are ducks

Where to put the splash dish in the big aviary is a constant worry. I’ve lost button quail hens who jumped into it and couldn’t get out. I’ve had chicks that were only a few days old fall into it and drown. I have a rock in the water in the hopes that any bird who does fall in will be able to get out. The other day I went out to feed and water and saw a zebra chick in the dish. At first, I was horrified and thought the bird had drowned, but then I saw it was standing on tiptoe in the water. I don’t think it would have lasted much longer. I picked it up, reminded it that it was not a water fowl of any kind, then tucked it in with the button quail hen who is sitting tight on some eggs.

Zebra finch nests with ringneck doves

Now there’s something you don’t see everyday.

I created a nest that I was pretty sure the doves would like. Squinty and Allie, both girls, did choose to nest there and laid a couple eggs. The square container I used as the base of the nest is rather roomy for a pair of doves. So a very brave pair of zebra finches claimed a corner of the tray and laid their eggs. They successfully hatched out three chicks and raised them to fledgling status. Nonetheless, it looked very odd to see a dove in the nest and a finch peeking out from almost under it.

Peanut-loving Parrot wants head scratches

When Jessie came to live with us, I was told by her owner that she hated men and she loved peanuts. I haven’t seen any evidence that she hates men, she even seems to want to interact with Mike many times, and while she does love her peanuts, right now she is molting and would rather have her head scratched. She lets me know when she is done by giving me a gentle nibble. She is a very funny African Gray parrot.

Maynard does not know what he wants

I want you to spend time with me and no one else.

Sometimes we refer to my Double Yellow Amazon, Maynard, as the bird of very little brain. He is programmed to expect treats at certain times, to go outside with me every afternoon, and to have the lights turned off at a certain time every night. But in-between those moments, he’s not sure what he wants. If I am eating anything, he wants a taste. If I leave the room, he screams for me to come back. And if I stay away too long, just like an overly tired toddler, he may keep screaming when I am sitting next to him. Luckily, most of the time, I merely need to pay some attention to him, maybe provide a “new” toy for his entertainment, and all will be well. Let’s say, 9 times out of 10.

Talking to another bird person

As part of my duties with the bird club, I often have to be on the phone with other people who also have parrots. When I was engaged in a conversation recently, the woman on the other end heard the parrots calling back and forth, and wanted to know who was talking. I had to play the noises back in my head, but Jessie and Io were calling to each other as they often do, then Maynard wanted me to hang up so he started saying, “Goodbye!” Luckily, I was talking to someone who also has talking birds so she didn’t take it personally.

No one told the canaries that breeding season was over

Yes, I will lay eggs in the food hopper.

My canary hens do not want a break now that breeding season is over. The three I have are still laying eggs in seed dishes and acting offended when I remove them, but any chick that hatches out this late in the season will not be in good feather in time for the “show season” and can only be sold as a pet. Which is okay, but really not what I want. So off go the eggs, and I hope the girls get the idea.

Thanks for reading; I’ll be back next Sunday.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.